Peas, Carrots, and a Farm to Table Tasting

Hey folks! Sorry I haven’t posted in awhile. Our little family was struck with colds and our youngest was hospitalized with Kawasaki disease. It was a rough time, but we’re all fine and Logan shouldn’t have any longterm complications. Now that we’re all back in good health, I’ve been trying to dig us out of the mountain of neglected chores that piled up during that time. So. Much. Laundry. The monotony of folding laundry eats away at my soul. Progress is slow, but I’m getting there.

peas2The peas are officially outside, and the carrot seeds have been planted in one of the raised beds. I rigged up an easy and cheap trellis for the peas before transplanting the ones that survived torture by toddlers and cats. I had to plant a lot of new seeds because most of my original seedlings didn’t make it. I tied several tiers of twine to some garden stakes that I already had and boom the peas have something to cling to as the grow. Radishes were supposed to be planted yesterday, but it slipped my mind. I was frantically trying to clean the house before a friend came over to watch the kids while I went to the Forrest Pritchard/Farm to Table event at the library.

rabbitThe rabbits are out of their winter housing and back on the grass. I can tell they are so much happier, and I’m enjoying the daily task of moving them again. If you’ve been following my Instagram (@foxandfodder), you’ll have heard that our doe once again did not produce a litter, and I’ve decided to give up on her. I’ve contacted the farmer we got the rabbits from and hopefully we’ll have a new doe soon. Now some of you are probably wondering why I automatically assume it’s the doe and not the buck. There’s a chance it’s the buck, but based on my observations I’m almost 100% positive it’s the doe.

For those of you who might be worried about Taco’s future, we might possibly have a new home for her. If that falls through, I’ll definitely consider selling her to any of you who might be interested in having a rabbit friend. She’ll produce plenty of fertilizer for your garden! So if anyone wants first dibs on her, let me know. I’ll happily give you a crash course on how to care for her if you’ve never owned a rabbit. Hmm… I just realized I should do a whole post dedicated to that. So keep your eyes open for that soon!

ACPL Farm to Table Taste

Last night I attended an event I had been looking forward to for some time. Our library invited local restaurants and representatives from the farmer’s market and Co-op to prepare sample dishes and talk to attendees about who they are. The restaurants in attendance were Tolon and Junk Ditch Brewing Company. I was sad The Golden wasn’t there, but Junk Ditch and Tolon prepared very delicious dishes. My mother-in-law liked Junk Ditch’s dish so much she went back for seconds.

Followed by the tasting, we got to see a talk by Forrest Pritchard of Smith Meadows. A couple years ago, I read his book Gaining Ground, and I absolutely loved it. I was so
excited when I heard he was coming to Fort Wayne, and I
immediately signed up to attend. He’s definitely in the upper echelon of farmer’s I look up to and
hope to emulate. I highly recommend reading his book. I laughed and cried and was even more inspired to pursue my dreams. Like me, he didn’t go to college for agriculture, but later realized it was the path he was compelled to go down.

He also has a new book Growing Tomorrow. I haven’t read it yet, but I was able to flip through a copy of it last night. It’s an absolutely beautiful book that features sustainable farmers from all across the country. It also includes recipes from the farmers and little fun facts related to agriculture. It’s definitely on my reading list.

I’d like to end this post with part of a passage from Gaining Ground that Forrest also ended his talk with. It really speaks to me, because I’ve always viewed myself as a dreamer. My mind is like a browser page with too many tabs open and filled with hare-brained schemes.

“All farms require a resident dreamer, someone to thumb through seed catalogs in the cold days of late January, imagining summer fields of squash and cucumbers, tomatoes and sunflowers. Fall harvests are the reward of winter dreams. Someone must decide where the next fence should be placed, or conceive of a clever new way to organize the market stand. On a farm, there’s no shortage of little dreams needing to be dreamed.”

 

Leave a Reply

